Run away train … Never going back


I never thought I’d enjoy running as much as I do. On the 2nd of February I ran my first 5K. I don’t know what I was expecting but this race was certainly not like anything I could imagine.

I don’t know why other’s did it let alone myself. I didn’t think I was ready. One of my pitfalls is lack of faith in myself. It’s one thing to lie to others another to lie to oneself. So in all honesty I can only say the reason I went was because I was asked. I didn’t fear that I wouldn’t be able to finish. It was only a little over 3 miles and I’ve walked more than that before.  I normally pride myself on not being self conscious but truthfully, I was. Worried about embarrassing myself or those that I was with.

I can honestly say I didn’t expect complete strangers to be excited of others. I can honestly say it’s not something I’ve ever experienced before.  It’s addictive! I hope I don’t ever get use to it or take it for granted. I’ve become so swept up in their enthusiasm and confidence in me, that I decided to go with the flow. So when they asked me to come join them on a run with their group I went.  They asked me to sign up for the 1/2 Marathon in November and I have. I know what was I thinking? I’ll tell you what I was thinking. If they think I can do it then maybe I can. I didn’t think I was ready for a 5k and I was wrong.

On this crazy running journey I’ve learned a lot of things. Many of which I would never would have learned if it wasn’t for others. So when the opportunity to run with the running guru, Danny Dreyer came up I ran for it. (Uhg I know bad pun!) I loved how positive everyone was and how eager Danny and  the other Chi Running/Sole Intent instructors were.  I again didn’t expect the enthusiasm. Although it was cool and foggy it was humid. So it made the run very hard.  Despite all that, it was truly a great run.  The best part was the end of the run. Not because it was over but because there is always a reason for people to be excited. Even if it is just creating a new “PR” (Personal Record).

In all honesty the real reason the end of the run was the best, was because that was when everyone got a chance to talk and trade advise. It’s amazing the things we don’t think of  and how simple little changes make so much of a difference.

About Delilah L. Veronese

I'm nobody who are you? Lets find out who we are, who we will be and what we will do together.
This entry was posted in Delilah Diary and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Run away train … Never going back

  1. Pingback: Free Yourself From The #Diet Language @jgreenhood #Health #Promotion | Life love and everything in between

Leave a Reply

